strange web problem
Author: prugelknaben on December 07 2007
Viewed 896 times. 1 person liked this blog. You can rate it below if you haven't already.
People who enjoyed reading this: atum
--> hey, i know that some of you are good at understanding computers and the internets and programming and all. i am crap at it, so here´s the thing:

i got this site made years ago for the dance company i work with. now i am the one doing the updating, noone else is working on it. however, something strange happened with the guestbook, suddenly there are weird medical adverts on it. how can this happen?

here is the site: link

click gjestebok and you will see what i mean.

how can i fix this?

Read prugelknaben's other blogs.prugelknaben's Recent Blogs
Comments

well
deleting the unwanted posts first
and then implementing some kind of "human recognizing" system (just like myspace does, you know? "type in the verification code" or something like that)
this should work provided that the unwanted guestbook entries are generated by automated programs who crawls the web and automatically post messages everytime they find some input form which is "unprotected"
If the messages are posted by hand, there's really nothing you can do unless you require registration before posting.
the mixit.panicnow.net site has the same problem with the porn bots
Recent blogs: first blog!  

They're called captchas. The other method would also be to change your guestbook input page variables to something cryptic..... Oh! just saw your guestbook input html code. They're embedded there as well. Looks like your system might have been compromised somehow. If somehow you're using some freebie web based software, counters etc. it's been added to that page.

Inform the sysadmins. Hose down. Tighten up.
Recent blogs: Japan tokyo, kyoto, hokkaido  

pierlu, its not in the posts. its above and below the guestbook posts. .


jogn, ok. yeah. its probably a freebie guestbook, so it has snook into the page from there?

so i should find out who the guestbook provider is and inform sysadmins on that site?

oh sorry, i didnt understand correctly the matter. From what i understand after reading jogn and seeing the code, it seems like someone hacked the pages on the guestbook. given that the base url of the guestbook is the same of the site (www.dybwikdans.no i mean) it seems like the guestbook resides on the same server as the rest of the website, as far as I know. So actually you should remove manually the unwanted pharmacy links... if you have access to the server, you can trust someone to remove them safely, someone who knows what is what in html. as for how it could happen, i have no clue.
Recent blogs: first blog!  

i've only worked on primitive phbb's, but can tell you don't need a guest book


Register / login
You must be a member to reply or post. signup or login